Home > health and wellness, running > Inspiration

Inspiration

We all find inspiration in different places – people, pictures, quotations, events, and life. I’ve started training for my first triathlon – which of course requires running. I’m not a natural athlete so I have to work at it (I know everyone works at it) just to be average. Well I found my inspiration last night. Spirit of the Marathon was showing in Calgary. It was a packed house! We were 20 minutes early and barely found seats.

What I saw in this movie was a group of individuals that found the “thing” they needed to be successful – a daughter, a group of running friends, a desire to be #1. They clung to that thing with all their might and gave 100%.

I left the theatre inspired. Maybe it was the teary-eyed finishers at the Chicago marathon, maybe it was the work ethic demonstrated by the runners, maybe it was the crowd. Maybe. It was realizing that I need to stop planning for the race and start running it. Not a marathon just yet. But one day.

  1. tom
    April 10, 2008 at 22:36

    Hi Kerry, Just stopped by your blog and enjoy reading your posts.

    I agree the Spirit of the Marathon is inspirational. Glad it uplifts you and hope it moves you closer to running your goal races.

    Good luck as you consider running that marathon some day.

  2. Kerry McGuire
    April 14, 2008 at 04:31

    Thanks for the comment Tom! And thanks for the good wishes 🙂 those are always appreciated!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

